Sign in / Join
1184

From Dolly Parton to Martina McBride, a crop of Country Music Queens fill AXS TV’s ‘Sunday Night Rocks’ May 28 lineup

AXS TV Promos

Catch a crop of critically-acclaimed, award-winning Country Music Queens this Sunday, May 28, in AXS TV’s Memorial weekend edition of "Sunday Night Rocks." The eight-hour country music diva-focused programming block begins at 1 p.m. ET/12C with the riveting “Dolly Parton – Queen of Country” special and ends with “Martina McBride: Everlasting – Live from the Ryman Auditorium,” which airs at 9 p.m. ET/8 p.m. CT. Check out details for the entire “Sunday Night Rocks” May 28 Queens of Country lineup below.

Daylong coverage kicks off at 1 p.m. ET/12 p.m. CT with a riveting profile of the reigning Queen of Country, Dolly Parton. The “Jolene” singer is one of the most decorated female artists in her genre. The eight-time Grammy winner’s story is detailed in “Dolly Parton – Queen of Country."

Next, fans are treated to a mashup of five amazing musicians with “Allison Krauss & Union Station featuring Jerry Douglas, beginning at 2:10 p.m. ET/1:10 p.m. CT. The hour-long setlist includes selections from the O Brother Where Art Thou soundtrack and more.

Get an in-depth look at country music darling Carrie Underwood’s rise to fame, from her 2005 “American Idol” victory through her whirlwind ride toward seven Grammy wins on “Carrie Underwood Country Idol: The Shushie Bush” starting at 3:10 p.m. ET/2:10 p.m. CT.

At 4:20 p.m. ET/3:20 p.m. CT, six-time CMA Award, Grammy-winning superstar Lee Ann Womack performs a selection of hits including her signature smash hit “I Hope You Dance” and “Never, Never Again.” Womack is joined on stage by country artist Julie Roberts who delivers classic hits like “When Will I Be Loved” and “Smile.”

Grammy-winning country duo Sugarland performs a wide array of hits from their chart-topping fifth studio album The Incredible Machine, in "Sugarland 2009" starting at 5:20 p.m. ET/4:20 p.m. CT. The critically-acclaimed album includes he infectious Billboard Hot Country Songs Top 10 single “Stuck Like Glue.” Other songs in the setlist include “Something More” and “Stay.”

Canadian native country “Queen of Country Pop” Shania Twain leads the 6:20 p.m. ET block with her “Shania Twain: Still the One” concert spectacular at 6:20 p.m. ET/5:20 p.m. CT. Twain’s high-energy musical extravaganza was filmed live at The Colosseum at Caesar’s Palace, Las Vegas. She delivers a bevy of her biggest crossover country-pop hits in this concert.

Former Sugarland front woman Jennifer Nettles takes the stage next to support Band Against Cancer in the AXS TV premiere of “Jennifer Nettles: Band Against Cancer.” The sizzling hot set includes tracks from her most recent album including “Sugar,” “Baby Girl,” “Something More” and more. Nettles’ performance raises money and awareness for Band Against Cancer’s goal to “empower communities to fight cancer together. The Grammy-winning singer-songwriter teams with cancer specialist Sarah Cannon and Big Machine Label Group for charitable entertainment event, which starts at 8 p.m. ET/7 p.m. CT, only on AXS TV.

Finally, four-time CMA Female Vocalist of the Year Martina McBride closes out the “Sunday Night Rocks” May 28 country programming block with “Martina McBride: Everlasting – Live from the Ryman Auditorium at 9 p.m. ET/8 p.m. CT. McBride graces the world-renowned Music City landmark venue stage to lead the audience on a journey through her chart-topping Everlasting album which features Soul/R &B covers like “Come See About Me” and “What Becomes of the Brokenhearted.”

Find out more about “Sunday Night Rocks” on AXS TV’s website. Tune into the Memorial Weekend “Sunday Night Rocks” Queens of Country programming block on Sunday, May 28 starting at 1 p.m. ET/12 p.m. CT on AXS TV.

WATCH MORE VIDEOS FROM AXS